Auguries

By McCaviti

Petty Pleasures

I discovered today that petty pleasures can be posthumous.

I didn't take many photos today, but this one captures my son in the moment before he falls into a pool on a day that was still below 6C at 1pm. At the time I was accused of putting blips before child welfare, although really it was a happy accident that I had the iPhone pointed at him (and an unhappy one that I had set the camera to b&w).

Roll forward three hours and I find myself taking unwarranted posthostunus pleasure in the event.

Two hours of mind numbing football and brattish behaviour can do that to you.

For those who may be concerned, we had just been shopping for clothes for our Malaysian holiday (children v leeches/mosquitoes), so there was something dry to put on, and my sister does keep her house very warm.

And note the absence of any photos of drowned rats.

.... Now to sew some badges on my daughter's brownie sash. I wonder if there is one for luring one's brother into an icy swimming pool with a ball.

After all, it was her fault, and mine, not the boy who had been warned he was engaging in foolish behaviour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.