David J. Rose

By djrose007

Garden watch

This morning I found a small pile of brownish/black feathers on one of the patios. I don't know whether it was a cat or maybe our resident Magpies, but I do know that the blackbirds left the nest just a couple of days ago. 
I had seen one of the chicks sitting, and defecating!, on a small table we have outside. It flew off and went through the trellis fence to the back part of the garden. It was obviously very young still as the tail had not yet developed and it wasn't standing, the legs were bent underneath as they would have been in the nest.
I felt very sad but there's not much we can do to protect them as they tend to hide until they are stronger.
So this collage shows the male Blackbird on the lookout, a prowling Magpie and Jonty, patrolling the garden to discourage any cats!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.