craftylady

By craftylady

Mono Monday - Tradition - Which To Wear...

.... Jumper or T Shirt

Having no Maypoles or Morris Dancers available, I have had to come at today's challenge from a different angle.

My Mother had a superstition or saying for any occasion  and her one for May was : Ne'er cast a clout 'till May is out.
This caused many a battle, as we had some beautiful weather in May as I was growing up.  I would want to go out without a coat, which prompted a reminder of the traditional saying.  Needless to say, she usually won.
It was years later when I found out that the saying did not refer to the month, but to the May Flower ( blossom of the Hawthorn bush) which came out in May.  Wish I had known that at the time, although she would have brought out another Traditional saying which meant she would still win.
Thank you to ApolloFly for hosting Mono Monday this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.