Maple Tree Corner

After our damp and chilly arrival day, we’ve enjoyed some glorious sunshine and blue skies this afternoon.

You wouldn’t think, considering we’ve been coming here for about thirty years, that we could still be surprised at how beautiful it is, would you? I look at my photos from previous holidays and they remind me what the place looks like, but what I always fail to remember is just how fresh the air is, and how fabulous it is to walk outside and be serenaded by a cacophony of birdsong all around. I can’t stop smiling, I’m in my happy place. 

This is the popular Britannia Inn at Maple Tree Corner, Elterwater. It’s a honeypot for walkers and it’s just outside the back gate to the Langdale estate where we are staying. The maple tree on the green was planted in 1937 by the grandfather of a local lady we know who used to work at the Co-op shop and café in nearby Chapel Stile.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.