At Least There Was Coffee

I generally enjoy windy, rainy nights like the last one. Feeling the house shake a little and hearing things thump around on the porch makes me feel cozy, and I tend to sleep better. So I shouldn't have been that surprised to wake up and discover the power was out. We always have some contingency plans in place for this sort of thing, but still, it was an inconvenient way to start the morning. That, and all the warning lights on the dashboard blinking at me as I drove to work in the pouring rain. And the way my pants clung to my legs after getting wet while walking into the building from the parking lot. Lots of Monday overtones to the whole day really. When the projector started glitching so I couldn't use the materials on my computer to do the lessons I had planned, it was all part of the same pattern. Of course we tried to get the students outside for recess during a break in the weather. Of course it started raining again shortly after we got outside. So imagine my surprise when leaving work in the afternoon to find the sun was shining and everything seemed bright and spring-like. Here I am watching a beautiful sunset out the front window. I'm not holding my breath or anything, but I'm starting to feel a hint of optimism about tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.