Pretty in Pink

Driving down my road, a flash of pink caught my eye and I drove into the old cemetery to check it out.  A beautiful magnolia tree in full bloom was planted by a grave.  It really stood out from all the grey and gloom that surrounded it.  Such a lovely color which got me thinking about the cliche of little girls loving pink.  Some researchers believe it is encoded in our genes from prehistoric times since women were the "gatherers" in the hunter gatherer society and pink/red meant the berries were ripe and they gravitated to them.  Not sure if that's true but it is an interesting thought.  As a former elementary art teacher I do know the little girls in my class usually reached for the pink crayon first.

Gift#122: a spot of color on a grey day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.