Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Yellow

I planted these tulips a few years ago - before Ann died and they are definitely multiplying.  I always think of tulips as not very vigorous and long lasting but these are proving me wrong.  At the other end of the flower bed are these Spanish Bluebells, which are also intent on multiplying.

I've had a bit of an emotional afternoon.  Yesterday I looked for a book that  Merv had lent to Ann a while ago (it belongs to someone else).  I didn't find it - if you saw the attic you'd know why!  What I did find was a folder of papers titled `Huskar Pit'.  Hundreds of photocopies of National Newspaper reporting at the time of Queen Victoria's coronation and about the tragedy of the Wentworth Castle Greenhouse and the damage (and deaths)  caused by the storm.  (My attempt to simplify may be giving you the wrong message - the newspapers reported on the damage to the greenhouse rather than the deaths of the children in the Huskar Pit.)  Today I found a draft of the radio drama that she was writing - in fact my guess is that it is almost there and that's what the reviewer for the BBC had said to her (she told me that, but it hadn't really occurred to her that the review had been very positive.).  It's very good - I haven't come across the reviewers notes (perhaps on an email long gone), but I  was very moved by the writing and I was saddened by the fact she hadn't shared it at the time.  I wonder if there is a later draft somewhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.