Tractor Factory Photos

By TractorFactoryPhotos

Dry Stone Cairning....

I have this wee unwritten competition going with someone or someones in our local wood.  I build a cairn and they try to demolish it and they do a good job sometimes.  Today they did a particularly good job spread the rocks and leaving none at the original site.  I always take this as a good opportunity to rebuild which is quite satisfying.  Kids these days don't have the staying power.  It took me about a year and a half worth of dog walks to carry all the rocks into the woods.  They can't match that and just throw them around a 10m radius from the site.

Today I decided to try a hollow cairn stacking the stones in a circle.  Worked quite well but everytime I walked away I kept spotting a rock I missed so had to go back and add it...inevitably knocking it partly down again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.