pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Busy Mind

I was in the office before 9am this morning.

I can’t remember the last time that happened, but it wasn’t entirely unpleasant. Whilst I was pleased to catch up with a few key people, I was rather miffed that the big boss wasn’t in the office to see that I too was also in the office*.

With no one important to pat me on the bag for my efforts in trying to achieve the bare minimum, I got some prep done for a meeting tomorrow and left the office a little earlier than anticipated for the long drive down to Essex and an overnight stop at my parent’s place.

The roads were kind and the journey soon melted away to my latest podcast binge: Firebug - well worth a listen.

It was nice to arrive in good time as I caught up on some calls and had a good chat with my parents over dinner, before loading my car up with a load of their treasured belongings to take back up with me tomorrow. 

Always enjoy the view from the kitchen/dining room over the garden - helped by a almond galaxy knock-off…

Their house move is becoming more of a reality now as evidenced by the absence of a lot of furniture and beds. Typically of them, in amongst one of the busiest times of their lives, they still make time and space for their children.

I collapsed into bed early with a whirring mind (mine).



*Believe it or not, there is actually a word for this behaviour: presenteeism.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.