Melisseus

By Melisseus

Tryptich

Are cowslips more common than they used to be? Kew says that population declined in the 1970s and 80s. My (highly subjective) memory is that they were indeed rare in those days, but my equally subjective experience is that in the last 25 years they have become more and more widespread, with bigger and numbers of individuals in the places where they are present (largely roadside verges)

There have been big changes in the agrochemicals used over that period and, I think, changes in the way that roadside verges are managed. But, of course, I'm not living in the same place that I was 25 years ago, which was in turn different to the 1970s and 80s. I wonder if there is any reliable survey data

I feel the same about bluebells. As a child, i lived on a farm just outside a small village, a long way from major conurbations. But we would get into a car and travel to specific known woodlands to find bluebells,as a 'treat'. People still do that, but I did a couple of hours cycling from the house today and there are bluebells everywhere - again, I'm mainly referring to roadside verges, under hedgerows, in small areas of young trees on the edge of fields. I don't remember them being this ubiquitous

I also wonder if my perception has changed. Is it time of life, free time to observe, willingness to see? I'm puzzled

This little vista flashed across my peripheral vision as I was riding past (OK, I wasn't riding all that fast!) and made a big enough impression to stop, walk back and take the picture. Three bands of intense yellow, all different. I'm glad I stopped, I like it. Dandelions, we can all agree, have been with us always

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.