Curate’s egg

Exciting start to the day when my new e-bike (extra) arrived at 8.30am! Bit of a struggle getting the huge box it was in upstairs, but the delivery man and I quickly opened and scrapped it and just carried the bike up. It’s another Ridgeback so my Blipname remains appropriate (although maybe I need to make it Ridgeback 23 now!)
I didn’t have time to do anything with it though as needed to dash over to Soderberg to meet up with AR-M about advisory board plans, and when I got home I needed to sort out some things for interviews next week and some other admin. Reading papers for an upcoming meeting I realised I needed a plan with CR, so we decided to meet in Argyle Place shortly after and once again I was dashing out and across the Meadows, still with cloud and a cool breeze…fed up with this weather!
As we chatted I got a note forwarded from T saying P was due to be discharged tomorrow….first we’d heard about it and I’ve had no reply for two days when calling the ward to ask about his progress, then a call from Mt saying he was on his way to visit so asked him to try and find out some more….,
Home and then had to juggle answering calls and texts about P with texting Kt as I tried to assemble the bike. The battery catch is very stiff and the key goes somewhere different to the pictures on the instruction sheet so it was highly frustrating and tricky! In the end decided to take it to the shop tomorrow to ask for help!
Issues with P also very frustrating. He’d been moved to a different ward but no one told us, he’s lost one of his new (very expensive!) hearing aids, and he hasn’t been seen by the vascular team as requested….I’m so irritated by the lack of care that he seems to have experienced.
Texted his carers and friends to let them know he’ll probably be out tomorrow (although won’t be confirmed til the morning so not easy to arrange food delivery in time etc). Sigh!
Anyway, a lovely end to the day when I met LE for Japanese supper, lots of talk of her amazing South American holiday and my trip to Berlin as well as current frustrations before we then dashed off to see Scottish Ballet’s Streetcar Named Desire. Spectacular! Brilliant score, choreography, storytelling, set, lighting ….everything! So intense and dramatic. Only downside was having people next to us eating and drinking (including packets of crisps!) throughout, and someone in front leaning forward and partially blocking our view…grr!… but even those things couldn’t detract from a brilliant production and uplifting performance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.