This is the day

By wrencottage

Allan Bank, Grasmere

We set off for Grasmere this morning for a wander around our favourite haunts. First of all we enjoyed a delicious lunch in Mathilde’s Café at the Heaton Cooper Studio. Mathilde was the Norwegian girl whom the artist Alfred Heaton Cooper married in 1894, and Mathilde’s Scandi heritage still permeates the café, and its food, today.

After a brief wander around the bunting-bedecked village, admiring the Herdy shop’s Coronation display and Sam Read’s bookshop window (the latter an absolute must for us) we made our way to Allan Bank, now owned by the National Trust but once the home for a few years of one William Wordsworth – of whose poetry, you may recall, I am very fond! 

I’m sorry, but I simply can’t help myself from creating collages while I’m up here. I know it’s slightly cheating from the Blip ethos point of view, but my collages sum up the day for me better than one photo could. The main collage shows views in and around the garden at Allan Bank, and in extras there’s a collage of photos of Grasmere village.

By the way, the handsome gentleman perusing Sam Read’s window is none other than the esteemed Smithers … !

https://www.heatoncooper.co.uk
https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/visit/lake-district/allan-bank-and-grasmere

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.