A bit blowy

How windy it has been today. Sunny, but so windy. And we are pretty certain that this has been a Helm Wind, the only named wind in the UK and centering on the Eden Valley.

I don’t know how it works, Gordon knows more than I do and we even have a book about it, which I have not read. It’s all to do with a strong north-easterly wind hitting the southwest slopes of Cross Fell and air being squeezed as it passes over high ground and descends down the side of the hill - or something like that. It can be very gusty as a result - certainly has been today.

Most common in late winter and spring, a heavy bank of cloud rests on the fells (the helm) and near stationary bands of cloud can be seen (helm bar), as in my photo.

Of course the helm wind has inspired lots of tales, which locals will still tell, although I’m not sure any of them are altogether true. That’s how the ‘Helm Blues’ came about a number of years ago now. If you haven’t seen the video here it is https://youtu.be/QEc5ccBZ1bA

My photo shows what has happened to the tulips and what possibly (!) happens to sheep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.