The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Calne Town Gardens (Wednesday 3rd May 2023)

When I had my shingles jab the nurse told me I might feel a bit drowsy and fuzzy the following day. I think I may have felt the effects rather sooner than that as I managed to leave the copy of Mojo that I was reading in the nurse’s room.

I worked out that I must have left it there the next day, after not being able to find it in the house or car, and went back to check. It had been put out in the waiting room for other people to read!

I retrieved it and sat in the Town Gardens to continue reading it and whilst there I took a few shots, including this cherry blossom and the blue hedging in the Extra.

L.
Friday 5.5.2023 (1356 hr)

Blip #3870 (#3620 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #009
Blips/Extras In 2023 #078/266 + #048/100 Extras
Day #4785 (1174 gaps from 26.3.2010)
Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day #3010 (#2850 + 160 in archived blips)

Taken with Panasonic/Leica DMC-LX100 M4/3 compact

Calne series
Blossom series
Macro series
Outdoor Places I Have Sat In series

Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Linda Lewis - You turned my bitter into sweet (1967)
R.I.P. Linda Lewis (27 September 1950, West Ham - 3 May 2023)
Latterly best known as a back-up singer for many top names (including on David Bowie's Aladdin Sane, Cat Stevens's Catch Bull At Four and on recordings by Rod Stewart, Al Kooper, Chris Spedding, Steve Harley & Cockney Rebel, Roger Waters, Midfield General, Noel Gallagher and Paul Weller), Linda Lewis was sixteen when this, her first single, was made.
It went on to be big in the Northern Soul clubs in the seventies, by which time she had had some hits including Rock-A-Doodle-Do and was married to Jim Cregan from Blossom Toes. The single was produced by Ian "Sammy" Samwell, the secret link between Cliff & the Shads and the Small Faces
 She was an irrepressible force of nature who had a vocal range that actually exceeded that of Minnie Ripperton, with whom she was often compared. The original of this was made in 1965 in Los Angeles CA by Mary Love, who was also popular on the Northern Soul scene.
(LOTD's now up to date to here).

One year ago:
Lower Compton

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.