TRACK MEET

High school track meet.  Girl's High Jump......showing decent form.
~
While waiting for jumper after jumper I was doing some mental math.  In high school, back in the late 50s/early 60s I used to pole vault...using bamboo poles into a sawdust landing pit.  The highest I ever made was 10'6". ..and believe me, if you pole vaulted in those days you didn't want to fall into wet sawdust from higher than that.  Then I was thinking about Olympic caliber high jumpers who are high jumping only a foot or so less than I could pole vault.  Blows my mind.
~
I had a similar experience with a guy I saw running while I was on my bicycle. I'm not particularly fast as a rider but I thought I could catch up to him fairly soon.  It took me nearly 5 miles to catch him. Then I thought again about Olympic caliber marathon runners. You know, they run a mile in not much over 4 minutes and they run 26 back-to-back miles at that speed.  Ya know...I couldn't bicycle a marathon as fast as they run it.  Blows my mind.
~
Best in Large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.