Chatsal

By Chatsal

Golf, Echo, Zulu, Bravo, Oscar.

I went to Bristol airport today, or rather next to it. The Felton Commons (next to Felton village) is a nice green area right by the landing strip. There, as close to the perimeter fence as possible, I had a great afternoon in the sun watching the iron birds roaring overhead, as they (remarkably slowly) approached landing strip 27. (Where the remaining 26 landing strips are, I do not know, as this seems to be the only one, bearing number 27 at one end and 09 at the other).

The deafening sound of an Easyjet Airbus's two CFM56-5A jet turbines carrying 75 tonnes of steel, pushing out 9'000 kgs of thrust, about 30 metres above my head was in one word: awesome (all meanings considered). Highly recommended.

I do however wonder why anyone wants to live in the village of Felton.
But then again; I once fell asleep in the middle of a rave party, so I guess people can get used to all sorts of noise...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.