TrishaR

By TrishaR

The Golden Hour

Second and last full day in Toledo.  The old town, surrounded by well preserved and huge city walls is a delight.  I had no idea it would be so picturesque and most of all immaculately clean!  I saw no litter, overflowing rubbish bins, tinnies, discarded fast food crap or dog shit anywhere.  I think there are an army of cleaners going around every day maki g sure it’s cleaned.  It’s also inundated with shops selling sword, knife, daggers, spears - anything with a sharp point end actually.  Another item it’s famous for is marzipan, but I didn’t have any.  One thing that is in short supply though is fruit shops!  It has many little supermarkets masquerading as someone’s front door but try and find a banana or apple or whatever then you are struggling lol!  There was a fair sized one near us where I managed to get blackberries and blueberries for my yogurt thankfully.  There will be plent in the new part of Toledo I am sure but it’s a good walk away and why would you go there when there is all this beauty right where you are staying.  We headed to the 12 century Synagogue this morning.  Wow I was amazed at the inside it was small compared to the cathedral but beautiful.  Also had lovely gardens to sit on a bench under a tree.

We bought a cool fridge magnet there to add to the travel collection and then down to the other old bridge where they had a zip line over to the other side and there were loads of schoolkids waiting to do it.

Next stop was a restaurant sitting outside (under cover) where we had the Spanish version of fried tatties two eggs and mince stuff on top.  Delicious!  After eating most of it I started to feel sick, after a few minutes I felt woozy and got the ringing in ears and knew I was going to pass out so I slid on to the ground next to the table.  I am not sure if I did pass out or not but S burst into action putting my legs up on a seat, taking pulse and this German couple from Hamburg , with immaculate English also came over asking if they could help.  The waiter brought a bag full of ice and asked if I needed the ambulance.  I knew It would pass so it was declined.  What a carry on!  I think the combination of a disturbed nights sleep , wolfing the food and the heat did for me.  I’ve not passed out since I gave blood many years ago .  My blood pressure is also traditionally low so any small change affects me.

We walked slowly back to the apartment bumping into the German couple again and having a chat with them and exchanging some holiday tips.

Had a sleep in the apartment and went out later getting a delicious ice cream and eating it at the Cathedral where golden hour was starting. The colours on the walls was stunning.  We then walked back through the little winding lanes of the Jewish quarter to a high viewpoint to watch the beautiful sunset.  It was perfect!  Hundreds of swift’s were doing their aerial display and making lots of birdy tweety noises as the sun was setting.  A lovely memory.

Would thoroughly recommend a visit to Toledo,  even if staying in Madrid it’s a short half hour train ride but I think better to stay in the old town as the hoardes  all leave and the streets are so quiet in the evenings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.