St Bega's

A pilgrimage, of sorts.

I have wanted to visit this church ever since I saw it on Kentboy's blip. This is St. Bega's, on the shores of Bassenthwaite, in the shadow of Skiddaw. To reach it, you must walk through the grounds of Mirehouse and across fields of sheep. It dates from pre-Norman times and inspired lines in Tennyson's Morte d'Arthur, which he wrote while staying at Mirehouse. The church is an oasis of calm and I had the place to myself apart from the swallows nesting in the porch. St Bega was an interesting saint - you can read more about her here. There is a pilgrimage route called the St Bega Way which goes from St Bee's to this church - a walk I hope to do before too long.

I slept very well, last night, by the way, and I'm now safely home with D.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.