Ridgeback13

By Ridgeback13

Old Man (not that one!)

Slept well and for longer than recently, but unfortunately S had a bad night and decided to skip breakfast. We packed up and when I was putting some litter in the big bin in the car park I dropped the car keys in and had to upend myself to scrabble around and get them back….not a great start!
Lovely spring morning with a mainly blue sky and not much wind. We stopped at Whaligoe steps and I ran down to take some photos….very dramatic!
Coffee in Thurso and had to post the hotel key back to them as I found it in my pocket, then joined the ferry queue…..hearing how it’s raining in London for the coronation whilst we sat in sunshine!
The crossing was very smooth, and we had a great view of the Old Man of Hoy.
By the time we landed in Stromness the haar had descended and we drove over to St Mary’s enveloped in cloud. As expected there was a strong wind blowing straight off Skara Brae into the front of our cottage for the week. It was cold when we came in…with bizarre and pretty useless ‘heating’ panels on the walls or ceilings. We quickly got convector heaters switched on though and unpacked the car then had cups of tea and took stock.
We weren’t very tempted to go out again as S still feeling a bit peaky, so just had some scrambled eggs on toast and watched some TV and browsed the guide books. I briefly walked down the jetty opposite the house to take a look and get my bearings, but really too windy to stay out. Let’s hope the weather improves a bit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.