Almondblossom

By Almondblossom

Flower meadow

Determined to get outside before the rain I drove over to Upwood meadow. In spring it's especially wonderful. A couple of weeks ago the medieval ridges/furrows were bursting with cowslips and I wanted to check on whether the green winged orchids were on their way. 

What a fabulous treat to see both cowslips and orchids together. I'm not a competent enough photographer to get a really good sharp capture of the massed flowers, but this one is ok. The orchids range from near white to dark purple, the markings are beautiful (extras). The scent from the cowslips was subtle but pervasive - I guess the damp air helped. 

The roads were delightfully empty thanks to *something* being on the telly... I managed to avoid all of the coverage. Whatever occupied your day I hope you've all enjoyed it, despite the crummy weather. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.