earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Eerily Quiet

The weather turned unexpectedly spring-like this morning so I headed out for my first bike ride in quite a while. I've missed the cycling. It was such a joy to be out in warm weather without the need for layers. I'm looking forward to getting my bike fitness back so I can do some long rides this summer.

The strange thing was that for a Saturday, the roads were remarkably quiet. Ilkley was dead. It was all a little eerie. Up the Dale, there was no one about except for loads of other cyclists, all of whom offered a smile and a wave as I passed. In fact, the camaraderie of the road was as wonderful as I've ever known it to be

On my way back, even Burnsall, usually teeming with visitors, was quiet. Have you ever had the feeling that something important is going on and no one has bothered to tell you, like everyone you know has gone to a big party and your invitation got lost in the post? It was a bit like that. 

I got home in time to watch Leeds play away to Manchester City, with big Sam in charge for his first game with the club (oh, how far we have fallen). With absolutely zero expectation, a 2-1 defeat was as good as a result as one could possible have hoped for. Roam was positively buoyant. Leeds really have to win two of their last three matches now. to stay up. At least a bit of confidence has been restored. There is hope. Mind you, it's the hope that's the real killer with watching football.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.