Living my dream

By Mima

Cheeseday Sunday

This is my cheese-making gear, minus three more bottles of milk and a large pan. 

As you can see most of the bits and pieces are things that I use in the kitchen everyday. The only items I bought specifically are the press (top right), the cheese mat (left) and the circular skimmer spoon.

The small bottles contain calcium chloride, rennet and cultures (fallen over) all of which I use only for cheese-making.

Today I made a second Gouda. The first one is just about ready to taste. However a slight logjam of cheeses has developed, as you can see from the extra, so it might be a week or four before I get to it. 

Fortunately all the cheeses except the Camemberts will keep long past their ‘ready-by’ date. And most will improve in taste and texture for maturing longer.

I shall probably cut a Wensleydale once I’ve got more space on the cheese board, which currently holds half a Cheddar and a chunk of feta.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.