Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

A Study in Petals

What I love about peonies, is the gradual change of colour in the petals as they mature!  Some of them were tight buds when I bought them and others were starting to open. Most of them were a medium dark shade of salmon pink at the start, now the oldest ones are creamy in colour and starting to fade with their stamens drying out.

I have a feeling that there will soon be a new bunch of peonies in my home!

We have a rainy day today, so these still colourful petals are very welcome.

I noticed a certain amount of criticism about events yesterday on Blipfoto.  
I think that we often feel strongly about many issues in the world today. Things like inegality, global warming, lack of gun control in some countries, innocent people dying, including many young people in collages and children, or in shopping centres. Racial inegality, wars about religion, wars about power and greed... I could go on and on.

However, when we do not share the traditions of other countries, we do not need to adhere to them, but just respect them without criticising or judging them.  For other people, they could be very important and very beautiful.


“The pleasure of criticizing takes away from us the pleasure of being moved by some very fine things.”
– Jean de La Bruyère


Peace to you all.
Sandra

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.