David J. Rose

By djrose007

Elgar's Malvern Hills

We didn't have a big Sunday dinner today, just had everyone come for a tea-time with sandwiches and cakes. The rock cakes weren't too bad, just a little burned - Just call me Alfred!
So, when they all left I went out for a ride, it was such a beautiful day, and 19 degrees. 
Set off towards Ledbury but turned off at Staunton onto the B4208. 'B' roads are often not great roads but it was a nice run up to the Malvern Hills, hence the photograph which is of very poor quality due to the direction of the Sun. I didn't realise how bad it was going to be, I should have changed the settings!   I changed the photograph, found the new one on my phone rather than the Lumix camera!!
From there I headed to Tewkesbury via Castle Morton where the villagers were having a big party on the village green. Lovely to see whatever the occasion is, obviously a Coronation celebration in this case.
Love going through Tewkesbury, the Abbey is always a great sight to behold.
On down towards Gloucester but I took a dive to the right when I saw the sign for Boddington. I served at RAF Boddington 3 times but, some time ago now, it was handed over the the Ministry of Defence as opposed to the RAF. See extras, one of the entrance gate (and bike of course) and just along the road I stopped to take another photograph showing how close it was to GCHQ. That may give a slight clue as to the purpose of Boddington but can't tell you or I'd have to put you through a shredder afterwards!
Got home after being out almost two hours, just kept going my own way, ignoring the sat nav directions for going home as it wanted me to go onto the motorway. I even managed to avoid the 'Outer Ring Road' dual carriageway around Gloucester by taking a back road to get to Hucclecote.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.