isbiJG

By isbiJG

Galah

I would have liked to get closer for a better shot but these Galahs were a bit timid and my iPhone’s not designed for bird photography.
It’s a female on the left and male on the right - I can safely say that without any fear of being challenged because the genders can only be determined by close examination of the iris (dark brown for male, light brown for female).
Galahs are among the most common cockatoos and are about half the size of the much loved (not) Sulphur Crested Cocky. I’m not a huge fan of domesticated cockies but I used to see quite a few in veterinary practice.
For overseas blippers, a Galah is also a term in Oz for a stupid person or somebody behaving erratically Not sure how this originated as I think they’re smarter than plenty of other birds I know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.