AnnieBelle

By AnnieBelle

Celebration

Many people in the UK had reason to celebrate on the weekend with the coronation and following entertainment. I've enjoyed the entries of blippers on this subject over the past few days.

Here in Newtown coronation celebrations were not evident. The recently elected Premier of NSW decided not to project a celebratory image on the sails of the Opera House, stating that the expense was not justified, given that so many people were doing it tough. I thought there'd be something in the local pub, given that it celebrates St Patrick's Day, Gay Pride, Christmas, Easter, Halloween and Anzac Day but for the coronation there was nothing.

In spite of today being the coldest autumn day on record, I roamed the streets, looking for a Union Jack, however tattered, or a bit of bunting on a shop but again there was nothing. In the end, I went to the park and found an ibis and little pied cormorant sharing a perch. I'm always in the mood to celebrate the local wild things. They make my heart sing.

Thanks for hosting ApolloFly. Have a great start to the week. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.