What I've Done

By JohnGravett

Back on the Wainwright Trail

I've had a couple of weeks without progressing with my Wainwright walk for Charity. Today started with clear blue skies, so I dropped Deb off at work, and drove round to the back of Skiddaw. Only managed to get the last place in the lay by I was heading for. I set out over:
Longlands Fell - 1585 ft
Brae Fell - 1923 ft
Great Sca Fell - 2136 ft
Meal Fell - 2136 ft
Great Cockup - 1726 ft

Though it remained Sunny over Longlands Fell, by the time I reached the top of Brae Fell, the cloud had rolled in, and visibility was only a few feet. Even at the top of Great Sca Fell, I was within 10 feet of a couple of walkers before I even saw them.

The pic shows a momentary break in the clouds, betweenBrae Fell and Great Sca Fell, with a few seconds of sunlight just catching the edge of a ridge - if you look really closely, you'll see a couple of walkers on it. You'll only see them if you view LARGE

Just as I came off Great Cockup (aptly named, given the weather) I descended out of the clouds, which cleared totally, (extra) - leaving a glorious sunny afternoon.

36 Wainwrights completed in 37 days. Updates & more pics HERE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.