Topsyturvy

By Topsyturvy

Coronation silliness

Here's the completed Coronation Chicken!   My friend loved it, so that's job done ;-)

I spent the day in front of the screen, marvelling at pageant, delighting in joyful and solemn music,  listening to the well crafted Coronation sermon.  This family works hard and I wouldn't want their job, despite the perceived privileges, for all the money you could throw at me. Much is made about cost but I believe the payback is huge in less quantifiable ways, the soft sell of raising awareness of uncomfortable issues (God bless King Charles for all his conservation work over decades, for example).  And it's very useful to have a state representative outside the political fray with continuity across each change of government. 

There are many who disagree vehemently, many more who are neutral and many like me who see them as quintessential to being British and would deeply mourn their loss.  But at least we all got an extra day off and were given the opportunity to time warp through a shared national experience. Extraordinary. 

I was treated to a Coronation teaparty with a few friends this afternoon. The husband produced tasty comestibles and I sipped Lady Grey from a cup and saucer; can't get more British than that!  My Coronation Chicken wasn't on the menu but sat on the table anyway, supervising ;-)

My cold is 'developing' :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.