kwchas

By kwchas

Cuckoo - 65

I went for a walk in Delamere Forest while kwdiane took her Nordic walking class. I had intended looking for a geocache but I got distracted by trying to photograph birds specifically this distant cuckoo.

I also realised that I had not been getting the best out of Merlin Sound ID for identifying birds. I had always thought I needed to isolate a bird to capture its sound but I discovered that if you stand in one place and turn on the recording it will identify all the birds and highlight the ones that are singing. This was a revelation to me and using this method I was able to see a common redstart and, even better, hear and then spot a garden warbler (blip 66) which is a bird I have never knowingly seen before. I ran this through Merlin photo ID to confirm its identity (although it looks like a chiffchaff it certainly didn’t sound like one).

Album of the Day - Arrival - ABBA (1976)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.