TheOttawacker

By TheOttawacker

Guess where I am

Saturday wouldn't be Saturday without football of some sort or another. Today brought a conflict of interests: Liverpool were playing Brentford and Ottawacker Jr. had a game against the Futero Academy at exactly the same time. I mean, seriously, who the hell schedules a soccer match when Liverpool are playing? Tough choice, but decided parental support had to win out... as such, I wasn't able to join in the booing of the national anthem from afar.

In truth, both games were diabolical. Ottawacker Jr. played the first half in goal and the second half as a striker. He let in one, which he might, possibly, conceivably, have done better with, but was otherwise the sole point of stability and defence againt the relentless onslaught of the opposition. Up front he was hardworking, but unable to score. In truth, this could have been a description of the Liverpool match too.

As for the national anthem booing, well, I'll say this. I don't believe in God. I don't agree with divine right. I'm not going to swear fealty to anyone who isn't in my immediate family, let alone that lot. I am not sure what I think about the monarchy for the UK - but I am pretty sure it's a shite idea for any other country to be subjected to (unless they desperately want to be, that is). I'm not sure what the final bill for it all will be... but I am pretty sure there are more important things to be spending all that money on. 

And, in the midst of it all, if the king wants to sit in his multi-million-pound carriage and tell his wife that he's bored, in the middle of the multi-hundred million pound narcissist fest for which he's responsible... then it really is hard to see what the point of it all was. Just saying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.