Theleens

By Theleens

Doors and Headstones

St. Andrews Churchyard is quite wonderful. I know some people think it may be rather bizarre to walk around a churchyard. Personally, there is something really interesting about reading inscriptions on old headstones and trying to imagine what that person was like. There's something calming about walking around an old churchyard on a bright spring day, sun streaming and birds chirping. Days like today remind me of many years in Kent, England.

The church dates back to the 1850's. However, on a large plaque flanking one side of the churchyard's perimeter, was mention of land being appropriated and, as a result many headstones were brought to St. Andrew's and laid to rest along the eastern wall. Most of the headstones I saw were from the 1700's and 1800's.

I really found it difficult to select one photo to blip, so I went for symmetry and colour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.