hpx

By hpx

Crossing with care

Birthday treat day 4 - Cedar Flats, West Coast

Our last day of what's been an awesome trip with a great team of 4.

We always knew there was a risk with the weather forecast for today. As expected we tramped out in light to medium intensity rain. Either way that made for treacherous conditions with everything wet and slippery.

Leaving the hut we had a swing bridge to cross the Toaroha River. There were numerous side creeks to cross. "Creek" on the West Coast of the South Island, New Zealand is a relative term in low flow conditions let alone when water levels are rising.

This creek was up but safe to cross. In the photo I'm on the left. Nat and I are linked each with an arm between the other person's back and pack, grabbing hold of a pack strap.

At the biggest side creek we faced a boisterous torrent and opted to take the flood route. Getting up to the start of the route was tricky. We were all relieved to get back to the car - wet and with one person (not me) nursing an injured wrist and forearm.

We descended on Hokitika like a flock of hungry seagulls amd devoured pies, coffee and ice-cream. Then we had a 3.5 hour drive back to Canterbury.

There's always a risk in the hills. We calculated ours and the leader made good choices. You can be old or bold in the mountains but you can't be old and bold.

Such a wonderful birthday treat but I'm gutted for my injured mate. Thanks to Maree for the photo. Next time I'll check that I have my phone in my pocket.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.