Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Caleb's masterpiece

This building in my neighborhood has been empty and unoccupied for all the 15 years I’ve lived here, but lately there have been groups of workers in it every day, a sign that someone has finally either rented or bought it, and so perhaps it’s about to become something other than an empty building. The bad news is that this probably spells the end for Caleb’s beautiful street art left on the hoardings that cover the windows at present. I met the artist last summer, and over the past year he has added some circles, shadows, and shading to this painting, enriching it, improving it. 

He has also started paintings at another empty building nearby (extras), but it shows no sign of being occupied, so I hope that art work is safe, at least for a while. I wish there were a way to preserve his art. I have loved watching it grow. I make these photographs as a way to hold onto the beauty and complexity of his work.

Exciting news from Arizona: my eldest granddaughter Crystal is in labor with her third child. I should have another great-granddaughter by morning. They’re going to call her Nova. I’m holding Crystal in my heart this evening, hoping the labor is not too difficult and that she and Nova will be well and able to go home tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.