Jillian's Journal

By Daring2Go

Green Flash + Promise of Things to Come

I've not only just had an incredible time revelling in the most gorgeous pink, orange and salmon sunrise clouds you could imagine, but I saw the green flash. Just momentarily. I've only ever seen them flash fleetingly, like a green filter, sliding over the just rising sun. The two images on Flickr aren't quite at the right second though! but very nearly :)

This morning, I had one of those photo sessions that I'm sure I'll never forget, one to die for! The sky looked so promising that I dragged my unwilling body early out of bed, drove down to Redcliffs, thinking I get the sunrise from the yacht club, just for a change, a different perspective. Umm, no tripod in the boot. Driving back up the hill I saw billowing clouds boiling up from the south, so with the tripod retrieved, I dashed back down the hill, amongst the commuters, hopped out of the car, walked about 8 paces, and started clicking away. It was gorgeous!

This image shows the old Sumner Signal Station, with the dawnlight streaming through its high windows. Time flew by, many clicks recorded!, and there are more here, if you'd like to have a peek.

It's better in Large - the seagulls show up!

Lens - Nikon 70-200mm f4G

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.