Gaia's Child

By maura143

Euphoria sepulcralis

I couldn't help using this scarab's Latin name as the title of this blip. I mean...'Euphoria'? Scientific naming doesn't get much better than that! Spotted this small, 9-11mm, scarab on our driveway this morning. Thankfully it was impressively slow-moving because I had to go back into the house, change lens and put in a new card. When I got back, it had only moved a scarab's length. The common name of this little 'beauty' is Dark Flower Scarab. (almost as interesting as it's Latin name...but I digress) They are found in Mexico as well as the Southern and Central U.S. They love to eat flowers, especially their pollen and nectar. Unfortunately they can be agricultural pests as well, but hey no one's perfect! Do check the *extras...for a couple more photos of this hairy little beastie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.