*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

The marshes

This place made my witchy heart sing :-)

Felt rough for a lot of today but it was relieved for periods by co-codamol. God bless codeine.

Went to one our favourite tea rooms for morning coffee, Kitnors at Bossington. It's such a beautiful garden, full of flowers and birds, and they have a White Rabbit tree carving (extra).

Afterwards I walked along the SW Coastal Path from Bossington beach (see extra of a wishing stone - there are hundreds on this pebble beach) to Porlock Weir across the marshes (main). Had the place to myself and it was magical.

Found something sad on the beach at Porlock Weir (extra), my first thought was that it was a gannet but then I talked myself out of it because it seemed unlikely for one to be there so thought it must be an egret, which would have made more sense. But then the beak is all wrong and the colouring on the head and wings. It does look like a gannet to me. Strange. I didn't think there were gannet colonies around here so it's a mystery. It made me think of the Ancient Mariner!

It was a lovely walk which I've wanted to do for ages. By the time I got to Porlock Weir the painkillers had begun to wane and felt achy and shivery so was glad to get back and have a sleep for a couple of hours. Did a covid test and it was negative so that's something at least. If it's just a bad cold I don't mind being out and about but don't want to be spreading covid around the good people of Somerset.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.