Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Plans gone awry...

I should be in South Africa today seeing my mum. But as I was leaving home for the airport yesterday, we got a text from British Airways to say that the flight had been cancelled. We contacted British Airways who told us that the plane had had technical problems and they were forced to cancel the flight - something that has never happened to us before. I was very frustrated but there was nothing we could do. The very nice lady at BA managed to get me a seat on another flight leaving tonight - so I am still going, but just a day later and returning home on Friday morning.

After a very worrying weekend my mum seems to have rallied, although she is still very ill. She has been moved into the Cardiac Care Unit and is receiving excellent medical care. The doctors are now optimistic that she will recover although we have to discuss a medical plan with her cardiologist as she has very damaged heart tissue and will only survive with a careful medical plan and the right medication. My sister met with him this morning but we will have another meeting when I get there tomorrow.

So a quiet day at home organising things for my three day absence. My husband has had to take some time off work to be at home with the children, and we spent the morning organising meals and a going through the schedule of all their commitments this week that he has to see to.

This is a photo of Thomas playing cricket in the garden. At least we have had wonderful weather for the bank holiday weekend, something to be pleased about.

I know have time to catch up on your journals....


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.