Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Day 5 (Cairo & Pyramids)

What a day! We HAD to visit the Pyramids while we are in the vicinity. The 'vicinity' was a three hour bus ride away, but it was worth it! Excellent roads - all new motorways, though some crazy driving and even crazier - people actually just WALK ACROSS a four lane highway- actually, an EIGHT lane highway!!

I was quite worried about the 'activity level' of today's trip - it was a three dot one, and I usually only do one or twos. It WAS hectic, with quite a lot of walking, keeping up with the group, up and down steps, and even - bending down and crawling into some sort of tomb, can't remember whose it was (I'm a great tourist). I turned back at first, then I decided I had to do it. I'm not good at bending down and moving forward, but I made it, and was rewarded with some wonderful heiroglyphics that looked brand new.

We then went to see the three pyramids near each other. No, I can't remember who they were for. What a madhouse! Dozens of tourists buses, and men with camels harassing people for money. Men with horses and carriages wanting money. Men with scarfs wanting you to buy one. The police were also there, as our guide said there is often trouble...

We then drove on up the road to see the Sphinx. More crowds, steps, uneven paths and crowds. It was over 30° and I was getting VERY hot'n'bothered.

In between the two separate visits, we had a wonderful lunch at a posh hotel right beside the pyramids.  

When we arrived back, about 7.30pm, the staff were all lined up with champagne to welcome us 'Home'. Sweet.

Wifi STILL unreliable...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.