Three of a Kind

A very tense bowls match in a regional qualifier, first round of the so-called Top Club national competition this evening. Five rinks in different formats, two singles (4-wood and 2-wood), a pair, a triple and a four with one point on offer for each rink. 

To cut a long story short, I was playing the 4-wood singles match and the other four rinks had finished with the match sitting at 2 points for each team. The winner of our rink would be the first to get to 21 shots and so win the match. 

With both teams now looking on we were level at 20-all and so down to the last end. Having played three woods my opponent was in a winning position. To buy myself some thinking time I decided to visit the head (walk to the other end) to get a better idea of the shot I needed to play and, it so happens, I played it just right putting the pressure on my opponent and his last wood. Thankfully, for me and the team he missed the opportunity and we ended up winning 3-2, woohoo. I need a lie down down now!

By the way, I spotted the wooden sculptures in the park next to the bowling green :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.