Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Green and Yellow

This week I decided the time was right to make my annual (Covid years excepted) pilgrimage to the place where green sprites dance over golden flowers.

Yes, I went on a hunt for green hairstreaks up in the Lomond hills of Fife.
I was not alone.  Three other serious photographers had chosen the same day to pay homage to these butterflies.  All had better camera equipment but I'm more than happy with what I came back with.

I like this site because the male butterflies choose to set up sentry posts on the nearby common gorse bushes (Ulex europaeus) where the green and yellow  really stand out.  I was lucky with this one because there is a dark background to the wings and the dark antenna stands out against a lighter out-of-focus gorse flower.


The green hairstreak butterfly, Callophrys rubi.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.