CameraColin

By MrColinWilson

Methodical

One of the major disadvantages film has compared with digital is you have to pay for every mistake!
This works out at roughly 40p - 50p per frame depending on the film (inc developing and scanning) for 35mm and up to £1.17 - £1.50 per frame for 120 roll film.
If I make a mistake with digital I can see it immediately and make the necessary adjustments.
When shooting film you have to wait for ages to see the results and there is no imbedded data like you have with digital so you cant go over your camera settings to see where it all went wrong!

So in order to minimise costly mistakes (or at least repeating them, I now carry my little notebook with me.
In it I have handy information like hyperfocal distance charts and even a a little "sunny 16" aide-mémoire.

I also employed the very "old skool" technique of jotting down the frame number, f-stop, shutter speed, film type, etc, along with swearing at Soozy when she wanders into my shots rather than cloning her out in photoshop

In other news, I have totally revamped my website. I'd appreciate any feedback to improve it.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.