Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Wild garlic

It has been a day of mild disappointments. The warm and sunny weather that was forecast did not happen - it has been a cool and overcast day. As it was going to be sunny, I had planned a walk this morning to some woods that had masses of wild garlic, as I wanted to get some photos of the sunlight filtering through the trees and the wild garlic. Instead it was cloudy and 13C. Nevertheless, the walk was a new one to us and we enjoyed exploring this area. The location was told to me by a camera club member as he knew I was looking for wild garlic to photograph. 

The second disappointment was that the wild garlic was just about over. It was definitely past it's best, but I still managed to get some photos. I took my tripod as without sunlight I knew the light would be poor, and I did not want to crank up the ISO's. The positive thing is I have now found a fantastic new location for wild garlic, there are some very good compositions to be had there (could not get them today as in those areas the garlic was no longer flowering) and it is in the diary for next year!

After that walk we went home to drop Xena off, and went into the village as I had to get something at Waitrose. The traffic today has been awful, everywhere we went we were crawling along in long traffic queues. Not sure what the reason was or if it was just usual Surrey traffic. We went to a favourite café for lunch, and bumped into some friends there - we had a laugh as we always bump into them there when we go there, so it was good to see them again. 

In the afternoon we went to the driving range. This was my next disappointment for today, as I was rubbish! I could not hit anything properly. I suppose bad practice is better than no practice at all.

Tonight we may skip supper as we are still full from lunch. I am enjoying Bridgerton, even though it is a bit OTT. Not sure where they find such handsome leading men for every series, they sure know how to pick them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.