kwchas

By kwchas

CPD Llanrhaedar Ym Mochnant FC 10 Rhayader Town 3

A thoroughly entertaining afternoon in the mid-Wales sun at a very picturesque Llanrhaedar ground.. 

Like last week's game at Corwen the match was in the Ardal North East League, the third tier of Welsh football. The home side beat bottom of the table Rhayader in an eventful game. After half an hour they were 5-0 up but then looked like they were going to throw it away in spectacular style as Rhayader scored 3 to make it 5-3. However, normal service was resumed as  Llanrhaeadr continued to pile on the goals to eventually win 10-3. I've seen more than 2500 games but I think this is the highest scoring one I have ever attended so it was good value for my £3.

There were 3 penalties in the game and surprisingly the incident in my blip wasn't one of them. I did capture around 6 of the goals but this was my favourite shot.

When it was about 7-3 the visitors had their centre half sent off but it made absolutely no difference. I'm no coach but it wasn't difficult to see why they conceded so many goals.

In fairness to Rhayader I spoke to the goalkeeper at the start of the 2nd half and he told me that he had never played in goal before and six of the team weren't available because they were at a stag do.

Album of the Day - A Different Kind of Tension - Buzzcocks (1979)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.