MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Meet Mishka

When I went to The Gibberd Garden on 3rd May to photograph the lily of the valley and the columbine for my personal coronation invitation challenge I met a couple of women with a gorgeous cross-bred German shepherd dog. I sat on the grass in the sunshine stroking the dog and had my first proper doggy kiss since I lost my darling Ollie dog. I ended up in floods of tears, as I have been so often since Christmas. The loss of Ollie and my daughter's Frankie dog and the sharp decline in MrQ's mental and physical health since the turn of the year has made me profoundly sad. I talked to the women about this and the younger said, "Sometimes only dogs can get you through."  I've got a feeling there has been something in her life that her lovely dog has got her through. I immediately text messaged my daughter to tell her find out about some pups she had seen online. They were in Wisbech.

We decided to contact German Shepherd Rescue (West Essex) and my daughter sent me an image saying, "Poor Mishka looks manky and like she needs someone to love her."  I agreed.

We went to see Mishka last Wednesday and now she's ours. The poor dog had been dumped in Epping Forest when she was pregnant and was in a very bad, emaciated condition. It is thought that she had been force bred and kept in the dark on a concrete floor. Her elbows are badly calloused and her teats were nearly touching the ground. She had her pups whilst at the rescue centre and the people there have nursed her back to health. She has the most wonderful temperament and is already settled with me at home. I know that Mishka is going to get me through.

I'm keeping her on a very short lead at present until she gets to know the place. I got the above shot when I started to sing to her. Ollie dog loved me singing to her too.  


      


 


  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.