Sue Le Feuvre

By UrbanDonkey

A lamppost!

Isn’t arthritis (combined rheumatoid and osteo) a complex and strange condition. 
Last week nothing seemed to control the excruciating pain of bones grinding together in my knees. I couldn’t sleep because of the pain and also the indescribable rheumatoid symptoms that make it almost impossible to lie in bed. So my GP gave me high strength codeine that I could take when the paracetamol was failing. It did work and I actually got some sleep last night. The downside being too many hours of inactivity meant it was more of a struggle than normal to stand in the morning.
Now on a short walk to get a blip I’m delighted to report that despite walking down some seriously steep hills I have no pain at all; no bones grinding together. But so stiff it’s hard to walk. A great improvement on last week.
But GP also offered a course of steroids while I wait for tests before new treatment can start. I think I need to make that phone call tomorrow!
No sympathy please. I had about 35 years of rheumatoid arthritis without any significant pain or mobility issues so I consider myself very lucky. It just helps to record what’s happening so I know how to respond to the medics questions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.