Windmill 'De Eendracht', Sebaldeburen

'Eendracht' = 'Aindrakht' = 'Unity' ... één ('ain') means 'one'

A longish drive to reach this one, but I found it to be worth the effort.  It's a beauty, yes, but the surroundings didn't disappoint either.  As is the case with hundreds of other mills, it's in the middle of what used to be wetlands which are now polders, criss-crossed by narrow dikes.  Of course, as we all know, some of the old wetlands are still there.  This mill was built in 1887, so it is just over 130 years old, relatively 'young'.

Thankful for this distraction as I worked a bit before I left and then a bit again after I returned.  Some mails from the Viking were waiting as well, in preparation for this coming Tuesday.  The hearing will be in the wee hours, as usual, so I can only be thankful I no longer have back-to-back lectures.  Thankful also that the correcting and marking are progressing nicely, but there's still a number of things to do.  Thankful for the extended contract so that I can get them done.

AW took a rather long walk in the afternoon, about 10 km. he estimates.  There'll be more such walks if the weather is good.  In the meantime, I had hoped the drive would make me tired enough to sleep, but it did not.  The stress of court hearings... and then I remind myself -- 'You knew what you were getting into when you started it.  Expect schijt from the other party.  This is your fight, finally.  This is what you have to do.  No turning back now, just stay in there and see it through.'  I do not like to tell myself I will win.  I would, however, like to feel, at the end of it all, that I gave it all I had.  And, yes, I'll be thankful when it's done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.