Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Pikelets and crumpets

Last Sunday, Bivbov asked when a crumpet became a pikelet, or vice versa.  Which prompted me to consult Mr Google, where I found an interesting article and recipe.  So today, we tried a new recipe, and made a mixture of pikelets and crumpets.

These look the part, and were a great taste.  We had to do quality control, of course.   So we sampled a crumpet and the two small pikelets at the front.  

The recipe called for milk, we used oat milk with no detrimental effect.  My daughters are visiting in just a couple of months, and the younger one is on a totally dairy free diet at present.  We used a little butter as well as oil to grease the rings and the pan - but I think we can manage perfectly well without the butter.

We've had dinner early today, as we're going to a concert in Wexford - a wind band that I hope to join in September.  I may add an extra later. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.