JulesB

By JulesB

The whole of the World

I've been staying with Mum for a few day so no photos unfortunately. But to make up for it I returned home on Saturday lunchtime and later decided I would go into Liverpool to soak in the Eurovision vibe! I'm not normally a big follower of the competition but it seemed too good an opportunity to miss being so close to my home. As usual there was a great atmosphere with people rolling off the train in the city dressed in all manner of celebratory clothing - I'm not sure you would find more sequins per square foot as there was this evening. Everyone looked very happy and the music filled the air from the fan zone which was showing the broadcast from inside the arena. 
As I arrived before it was dark I wondered around looking at the various Soloveiko - Songbirds - 12 of which are staged all around the area playing music from various regions of Ukraine ( see extras) as Liverpool are hosting the competition on behalf of Ukraine this year given the difficulties in their homeland. 
I had also wanted to see this Floating world sculpture by artist Luke Jerram which has been here in the Albert Dock far a few weeks now but will go later this week. (See extra)
Of course the area around the arena was busy and full of TV crews and people dressed in various costumes. It was lovely to walk about and listen to people chatting in their own languages. By chance I took this enthusiast Swedish woman, maybe her enthusiasm had something to do with the result - who knows! (See extra)
I've posted a few back blips too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.