Academy of Sciences

First day of a little trip to Budapest. The conference concluded with dinner at the Hungarian Academy of Sciences. I'm pretty sure that I went there for lunch once or twice when I visited Budapest in the mid 1990s. At that point, the decor and the food were both pretty much unreconstructed communist-era. Things have brightened up somewhat since, and some of the neo-renaissance glory has been recaptured. Not in the academy or in politics, though....

Thinking about those events, makes me think back to how it was possible to organise conferences and travel in the pre-email era (although this would not have been pre-email, because I started using email for work in around about 1991 or 1992). These days, nothing functions without email.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.