KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

Another Hot Day

My son came for a visit this morning - it was so much fun to catch up with him without the grandchildren, as much as I adore them. We went for an early walk at the Orenco Woods Nature Park - just about 12 minutes from my house. I hadn't been there in ages and discovered a marvelous series of walking trails. I think I'll be headed there tomorrow morning! There's a shot of a rather murky pond in the extras. The sky was a glorious blue today!

It has a fascinating history. For a while it was a golf course, and once the greens were removed, historic acorns sprouted and began growing into trees. There are gorgeous open fields which are filled with our native Camas as well as the subject of my blip today: Sidalcea campestris (read more here if you're so inclined) or Willamette Checker Mallow. (Portland is located in the Wilamette Valley.) I thought this would be an interesting plant for Miranda's Wildflower Week (thanks so much Miranda!).

Hot hot hot...tomorrow just slightly cooler. A hot week coming up, but the nighttime temps will start to drop by Thursday (ugh).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.